About ARES

The Amateur Radio Emergency Service® (ARES) consists of licensed amateur radio operators who have voluntarily registered their qualifications and equipment, with their local ARES leadership, for communications duty in the public service when disaster strikes.

ARES is organized and sponsored by the American Radio Relay League, a non-profit organization.

Leadership Structure

  • At the highest level of ARRL, there exists a Section Manager.
  • The Section Manager appoints a Section Emergency Coordinator, or SEC. Generally a section corresponds to a state.
  • The SEC appoints a District Emergency Coordinator (DEC). Newaygo County is part of District 6
  • The DEC supervises all Emergency Coordinators (EC) in a district
  • An EC manages the ARES group for a given county

Neighboring ARES Emergency Coordinators

  • District 6 DEC – David Robertson, N8UKH
  • Clare<vacant>
  • Ionia – Michael Caringon, N8MRC
  • Isabella<vacant>
  • Kent – Jeffrey Nawrot, N8JSN
  • Lake – Bob Woolever, KE8AGO
  • Mason – Michael P. Collins, KC8JWB
  • Mecosta – Jeffrey Sell, K8OE
  • Montcalm – Robert Hornbrook, KD8TOV
  • Muskegon – James Duram, K8COP
  • Newaygo – Wes Bustraan, W8WJB
  • Oceana – David Robertson, N8UKH
  • Osceola<vacant>
  • Ottawa – Philip Van Huis, K8PVH